Skip Ribbon Commands
Skip to main content

About Us

The 12-member board was established by the Kentucky General Assembly in 1994. Five members are appointed from state government agencies, one each from the Kentucky Department for Natural Resources, Department of Fish and Wildlife Resources, Department of Parks, Kentucky State Nature Preserves Commission and the Environmental Education Council. Seven members of the board are private citizens, selected by the governor from nominations by conservation groups, the Kentucky Academy of Science, agricultural interests and natural resources industries.

The citizen members serve without pay and give their time for the quarterly board meetings and function as active committees of the board. These committees review and visit project application sites, review and monitor site stewardship, and provide advice and recommendations on other issues coming before the board.​


 Board Members

Agency Represented
G. William Little
Environmental Organizations
KHLCF Vice-Chair
John Small
Department for Natural Resources
502-564-6940Ex-Officio Member
Kentucky Department of Fish and Wildlife Resources
502-564-7109Ex-Officio Member
Donnie Holland
Kentucky Department of Parks
502-564-2172Ex-Officio Member
Zeb Weese
Office of Kentucky Nature Preserves
502-782-7837KHLCF Chairman
Alex Barnett
Agricultural Organizations
Dr. Paul M. Sheets
League of Kentucky Sportsmen
Dr. Richard K. Kessler
Kentucky Academy of Science
Hugh Archer
Land Acquisition Expert
Member At-Large